Top 12 Books You Should Have on Your Summer Reading List

Books are always the portal through which we can travel to an entirely different world. They help you take a journey and take you away to a different place.

Any troubles at work? Family drama? Too much stress? All you need to do is curl up in bed, choose a book that interests you and start your journey through an adventure filled story or an educative non-fiction title. Also, maybe light a few candles to make you calm and composed.

In the following article, we give you just the right combination of books, old and new, to set the right mood and take you away from your worries. After all, summer time is when we all deserve a good break.

12. To Kill A Mockbird – Harper Lee


Published in 1960, this novel went onto winning the Pulitzer Prize. The classic novel is known for its warmth and humour, written through the eyes of a 10 year old in the year 1936 in South America. The book explains the troubles and thoughts that go through a young child’s mind, reminding us of just how child-like innocence teaches us the greatest lessons of life. As Scout learns the ways of her father’s profession and her brothers new found love for adulthood, the reader is transported through a story of love and understanding. If you do find yourself loving the work of Harper Lee after reading this book, do not fret because there is an equally interesting read awaiting you his next book – Go Set A Watchman.


11. The Summer Before The War – Helen Simonson


A breezy read about the life of a schoolteacher after the death of her father and her story, as she begins to adjust to a new town.  She craves to feel independent but soon finds herself drawn to the lives of other resident in the small English town. The story begins with analysing the life of the people in the town but soon transcends into a compelling account of war and its aftermath.


10. Mrs. Funnybones – Twinkle Khanna


She’s a lot like you and just like me is a non-fiction book written by Twinkle Khanna. The former actress writes about luxury lifestyles to mother-in-laws and government policy. The book is structured on her columns though she stated that it is not a compilation. The book is light and funny, perfect for any day where you don’t feel like doing much of heavy reading.


9. A Master Plan for Rescue – Janis Cooke Newman


The book revolves around when an 11-year-old boy from New York and a man from Berlin meet during World War II, set in 1942. It is an enchanting novel about the heroism that can be inspired by love. This boy and this man, share their grief. Their magical thinking will allow them to dream the impossible. The book tends to leave a lasting impression with the number of surprises it puts forth.


8. The Girl On The Train – Paula Hawkins


Rachel travels on the same train to London everyday, day dreaming as she passes by the steady stream of houses. Her days are routine, until one day she sees something shocking. Now everything’s changed, the train moves again but things will never be the same. What she saw in the window, it sets in motion a series of chilling events that make her question who she can really trust. This book is the kind of thriller that you will be able to finish in one sitting.


7. The Book of Speculation – Erika Swyler


A novel filled with twists and turns about a young librarian who is sent a water-damaged diary that once belonged to the owner of a circus. The book is inscribed with the name of his grandmother, what is the connection between the book and his family? The story is told in two separate time periods, the present and the late 1700’s, this is a book that has a little of everything. Overall, the book is fresh, wildly innovated and gorgeously written. It has a puzzling mystery with well-developed characters.


6. Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover


Soon to be a major motion picture, this book serves all romantic readers well, the chemistry between the two characters is enthralling to read. When Tate meets airline pilot Miles, she knows its love at first sight. The two have a good thing going, as long as Tate can stick to the two rules Miles has for her – Never ask about the past and don’t expect a future. Will the two survive the love that gets ugly?

If do fall in love with Colleen Hoover’s work, there are many other books that are equally as romantic and addictive. A suggestion would also be to start reading the Slammed series.


5. Why Not Me? – Mindy Kaling


Through this book, the American actress, comedian and writer whom we all love, shares her ongoing journey to find excitement in her adult life. The book ranges from topics but mainly focuses on believing that you have a place in Hollywood where nobody looks like you and you’re constantly reminded of it. This book will make you laugh out loud and have you wanting more. Mindy talks about how her life changed after having her own TV show. It’s definitely a lightweight reading overall, it makes you laugh and come away knowing Mindy Kaling just a little better.


4. All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven


The perfect book for young adults with a love for books like The Fault in Our Stars. The story revolves around a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. Violet, suffers from PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) after the death of her sister. Violet and Finch are two very different persons. She is popular, down to earth and he’s the ‘freak’, careless and unapologetic. Yet, they both have something in common. This is a gripping novel perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.


3. The Ice Twins – S.K. Tremayne


This is a fantastically thrilling book about mistaken twin identities, fraught with tension. After the death of one of their identical twin daughters, the Moorcrafts move to a tiny Scottish island to put back the pieces of their broken lives. As if the move wasn’t bad enough, they are now faced with the question of which twin actually died. Was it Sarah or Kirstie? In their grief, they never thought to question the fact that the surviving twin declared that it was her sister who died. This book is altogether enjoyable and keeps you guessing till the very end.


2. Black Butterfly – Robert M. Drake


A book for any poetry lover, it will give you all sorts of feelings that I don’t really have words for. Which in and of itself is absolutely beautiful. The Black Butterfly is a symbol of transformation and rebirth after death. The author wrote this book for those who have lost someone in death and in life. It a collection of memories and experiences after the death of one of his brothers. Overall it is emotional, intimate and inspiring.


1. More Than Everest – He Conquered the Hearts of Men – Dr. Harish Dhillon


The book is a befitting tribute to a person who achieved the rarest of rare feats by displaying his spectacular courage and inner strength of character. On the 20th of May, 1965, Autar Singh Cheema who was a young member of the Indian expedition planted the Indian flag on the summit of Everest. The lesser known fast is that he was the first Indian to do so. The biography of a great man who captured the hearts of all those around him, is beautifully articulated by the author Dr. Harish Dhillon. The journey of his life is explained beautifully with instances of his days in the Indian Army. A must read of all adventure lovers, this book is a perfect addition to your motivational collection.

Related posts:

Sharing is Caring

About author View all posts

Gunit Locham

  • Sona

    Thanks for sharing your reading list. It’s meaningful when I pick my next book. Keep writing….